The River

Monday, Monday

Monday, Monday (Photo credit: howardpa58)

The River

by Judy Lesko

You held me fast in a river

sweet and strong,

blind and dumb

while time passed on.

Your name my only words.

Swept away in desire’s current,

I saw what you saw

breathed when you breathed

dreamt as you dreamt.

You suddenly released me

without regret or thought.

My body surfaced again to light

cut to the bone and scarred in soul

by the sharpness of deceit

so soft, so silent.

I never knew the truth

until I watched

my blood

wash away

in the river of your lies.

Angsty poetry for Monday, part of my women’s novella now in progress.

 

22 thoughts on “The River

    1. Judy Lesko Post author

      Thank you, C! We shall see about keeping up for the novella’s entirety. There are different moods and styles within it. I’m kind of schizo, on and off the page : )

      Reply
  1. Pingback: WCP: Masterpiece (2) | The World Is a Book...

Leave a comment

