Let My Baby Ride!

Liz at The Berlin Wall, East Side Gallery

At the Berlin Wall, East Side Gallery. Photo courtesy of Lizett Bond.

This photo is one of many cool pics of my awesome friend and journalist, Lizett Bond. We met three years ago in a freelance writing class at UC Irvine. Liz often writes reviews about European autos, purveyed by companies like BMW and Maserati.

Last year, she test drove the 2013 Porsche Cayenne Diesel in the Alaskan tundra and hung out with folks from Car and Driver, a rarity for women in a predominantly male industry. Personally, I don’t know much about cars. I can’t even drive a stick shift. However, I do know that a clutch, in car lingo, is not the little black purse next to you on the passenger seat.

I live vicariously through Liz. When she travels, she remembers to text me a pic of Kafka‘s house in Prague or as above, the Berlin Wall. Next month, she’s going to Shanghai for two days to test drive another new, lux car. I’m already looking forward to seeing what she’ll send me via Cloud mail, but even when Liz is at home, she remains in kinetic motion, riding her horse, Jazzy. I have a pic of Jazzy,too, but I can’t find it. Sorry, she’s a really pretty horse.

By contrast, I’ve never had a passport and my latest thrill is keeping Mindy  (Kelly Kapoor of The Office) Kaling’s book, Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) on my nightstand. I even think I might be developing a girl crush on Kaling, because she’s so funny, AND has deep caramel skin and velvety chocolate-brown eyes. But, that’s fodder for another post or probably another kind of blog.

Mindy Kaling

Mindy Kaling (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Yesterday, I did take a 5-mile walk from my house to pick up a couple of prescriptions for my mom, stop at Barnes to check out the latest best-sellers, and then shoot some grainy pix of ducks and seagulls swimming together on Irvine’s Woodbridge pond, with my Android phone. (A radical intermingling of avian species, the likes of which have never been seen anywhere on the blue planet.) Yes, I know you’re totally, totally, jealous that I get to do these kind of things.

Wheel & Tire. BF Goodrich

Wheel & Tire. BF Goodrich (Photo credit: Tomas Fano)

Without further adieu, here’s the link to John Brooks’ racing blog, DoubleDeClutch.com, showcasing Liz’s test drive of B.F. Goodrich tires at NOLA Motorsport Park in LA, that’s Louisiana not Los Angeles. Just published today!

Note: I’m only secure in promoting her story because despite being an amazing wonder-woman reporter, Liz doesn’t have her own WordPress blog. In which case I wouldn’t feature her writing, because you would immediately abandon my blog for hers–callously and gleefully tossing me aside, like an old pair of TOMS shoes.

Hmmm. I did offer Liz full use of my rudimentary WordPress skills to help create her own blog. I need to rescind, um, I mean revisit that idea, because as discussed on my “About” page, I’m a Leo. Garnering attention/adulation and a constant fear of rejection are pretty much all that motivates us. Throw in the insatiable desire to someday become a published, fiction writer and you have all the elements for an emotionally volatile, border-line-unstable blogger or a really bad sitcom.

Oh, right, this post is supposed to be about my friend, Lizett, who has actual media credentials. Bad, Judy, bad! Bad, bad, needy Leo! As you read, notice Liz’s clever use of the word “lagniappe” which is New Orleans speak for “something given by way of good measure.”

So finally, here’s the link for Lizett’s story, On the Skids in New Orleans:

Liz racing at NOLA Motorsport Park

Liz racing at NOLA Motorsport Park

http://www.doubledeclutch.com/?p=6242

P.S. This song inspired the post title. Liz introduced me to R.L. Burnside while we were driving in her Cooper, a couple of years ago. It’s easy to dance to and we like the beat. Liz has great taste in music. Otherwise, I’d be still be singing,  “And I was like baby, baby, baby, oh. Like baby, baby, baby, no!”

11 thoughts on “Let My Baby Ride!

  1. kaftan cotton

    I’ve learn some excellent stuff here. Certainly value bookmarking for revisiting. I wonder how a lot effort you put to create any such excellent informative website.

    Reply
    1. Judy Lesko Post author

      Thank you so much for the kind comment. I’m a freelance writer, so I just write about things that I find interesting for my blog. I try to do some background research for longer pieces or more complex topics. But sometimes, the posts are just me thinking out loud. Thanks again for visiting, Nancy. Have a great week : )

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Before the Fast and the Furious | judy lesko

  3. SELAHbrate

    “Writing is like doing a test drive; a stroke of a pen or a tap on the keyboard, either ways will test if the engine is alive. The process may require us to step on the breaks and shift gears; the direction is still the same if we focus not on our fears. Forward we go as we step on the gas; a published book will never be our last.”

    Reply

Leave a comment

