Furuzanfar #568

Go Seek the Water

Go Seek the Water (Photo credit: Edge of Space)

Happy 2013!

Peace, love and joy to all for the New Year. I begin this blog without celebrity or publishing pedigree, as an ordinary person who simply enjoys setting words to paper or most often on my computer screen. In weekly posts, I hope to share thoughts about creating fiction and poetry and life–which sometimes all feel the same–and perhaps music, if I pop for more memory.

The following is one of my favorite poems by Rumi, the 13th-century Sufi mystic. I think it helps explain why we write.

The human shape is a ghost
made of distraction and pain.
Sometimes pure light, sometimes cruel,
trying wildly to open
this image tightly held within itself.

From The Rumi Collection, edited by Kabir Helminski

 

4 thoughts on “Furuzanfar #568

  1. David Oliveras

    I think that Language Arts is more about the things used
    to actually write the books, like general English
    and punctuation and knowing grammar; the Reading class is more about
    books and different types of genres and how to interpret
    what was written. I’m not 100% sure, but hopefully I helped a little bit. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Bill

    Hey there, I think your website might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your blog in Firefox, it looks fine but when opening in
    Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up!

    Other then that, superb blog!

    Reply
    1. Judy Lesko Post author

      Hi Bill,
      I’m happy you liked my blog! Feel free to sign on as a follower 🙂
      And thank you for letting me know about overlapping.
      Some web-guru friends will check it out.
      Judy

      Reply

Leave a comment

